From Murli Deora to Manohar Joshi and Chhagan Bhujbal: Mumbai mayors who made it big | mumbai news | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

From Murli Deora to Manohar Joshi and Chhagan Bhujbal: Mumbai mayors who made it big

mumbai Updated: Mar 09, 2017 12:50 IST
HT Correspondent
Mumbai Mayor

Mumbai mayor Vishwanath Mahadeshwar at the BMC headquarters in Mumbai.(Kunal Patil/HT Photo)

The Shiv Sena’s Vishwanath Mahadeshwar was elected Mumbai’s 76th mayor, after the party came to power for the fifth time in a row in the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation.

The mayor of Mumbai is a prestigious post but it has limited powers. The mayor can get things done if he has a clear majority in the civic house. It has also been a stepping stone for some politicians who made it big in state or national politics. Here is a look at them:

Yusuf Meherally

Yusuf Meherally, a socialist leader, was well known for his contribution to the freedom struggle. He was jailed by the British when he was elected Mumbai mayor in 1942. Meherally was at the forefront of the Quit India movement launched by Mahatma Gandhi in Mumbai, and is credited with coining the Quit India slogan.

SK Patil

A Congress leader, he was elected mayor for three consecutive terms. Once described as the ‘uncrowned king of Bombay’, he went on to become union minister in governments led by Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi. His reign in Mumbai ended after George Fernandes defeated him in 1967.

Shiv Sena leader and former Lok Sabha speaker Manohar Joshi. (Vijayanand Gupta/HT Photo)

Manohar Joshi

The Shiv Sena mayor in 1976-77, he went on to become chief minister of Maharashtra, union minister and also Lok Sabha speaker. For a long time, he was regarded as Sena Chief Bal Thackeray’s trusted aide.

Late Congress leader and former Union minister Murli Deora. (HT File)

Murli Deora

Mayor in 1977-78, Deora later took over as Mumbai Congress president and handled the party unit for more than a decade. He was the Congress’ contact person with corporate India. Deora also had a long stint as south Mumbai MP and was petroleum minister in Manmohan Singh’s government.

NCP leader Chagan Bhujbal (HT File)

Chhagan Bhujbal

Another Shiv Sena mayor who went on to become deputy chief minister of Maharashtra and also state president of the Nationalist Congress Party.

Sudhir Joshi

A Shiv Sena mayor in 1973-74, Joshi missed the post of Maharashtra chief minister as he was considered too soft a person for the same. Thackeray chose Manohar Joshi who is also a relative of Sudhir Joshi. The latter was made revenue minister and later education minister in the Sena-BJP government.

Datta Nalawade

A former mayor who also became speaker of the Maharashtra assembly.

Diwakar Raote

He is currently transport minister of Maharashtra and one of the key Shiv Sena leaders.

Chandrakant Handore

He became mayor after the Congress-RPI alliance snatched power from the Sena in 1992-93. He later became a minister in the Congress government in the state.

There are several former mayors who became legislators. Prominent among them are Ramesh Prabhoo, Vishakha Raut and Sunil Prabhu.

Read more