10 candidates to contest Bhiwandi Assembly seat | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

10 candidates to contest Bhiwandi Assembly seat

mumbai Updated: Jan 07, 2010 01:14 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Ten candidates will finally fight for the Bhiwandi assembly seat on the January 20 by-poll as 12 of the 22 candidates withdrew their nominations on the last day — Wednesday.

Shiv Sena rebel Yogesh Patil, who was the former member of Legislative Assembly from the constituency, withdrew his nomination along with Congress rebel Rizwan Sheikh.

Two main contenders vying for the seat, which was vacated by Samajwadi Party leader Abu Azmi on being elected from Mankhurd, are Azmi’s son Farhaan (27) and Congress leader Muzaffar Hussain (44).

Others in the fray are Shiv Sena’s Rupesh Mhatre, Badiuzzamma Ali Khan from National Lokhind Party, and Independents Bhaidas Jadhav, Mohammed Nathani, Mukhthar Ahmed Momin, Rashtrapati Kondekar, Mukeem Abdul Siddiqui and Sanjay Laxman Patil.