5 Maharashtra MLAs suspended till year-end | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 04, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

5 Maharashtra MLAs suspended till year-end

mumbai Updated: Mar 21, 2013 01:20 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Maharashtra assembly on Wednesday suspended for the rest of the year the five MLAs involved in Tuesday’s assault on a police officer inside Vidhan Bhavan premises.

The MLAs assaulted sub-inspector Sachin Suryavanshi for allegedly using foul language when they asked him why he had misbehaved with fellow legislator Kshitij Thakur on Monday. Suryavanshi had fined the Bahujan Vikas Aghadi MLA’s driver for speeding.

The suspended legislators are Ram Kadam (Maharashtra Navnirman Sena), Kshitij Thakur (Bahujan Vikas Aghadi), Rajan Salvi (Shiv Sena), Jaikumar Rawal (BJP) and Pradip Jaiswal (Independent supporting Sena).

Soon after deputy chief minister Ajit Pawar presented the budget, parliamentary affairs minister Harshavardhan Patil moved the resolution for the suspension of the five MLAs for their “disgraceful behaviour that violated the dignity of the House”. The resolution was passed by a voice vote.

During the course of their suspension till December 31, 2013, the MLAs would not only be barred from participating in the House proceedings but will also be barred from entering the legislature premises in Mumbai and Nagpur.