BMC to get special court to deal with property tax cases | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BMC to get special court to deal with property tax cases

mumbai Updated: Feb 22, 2010 01:06 IST
Sujit Mahamulkar
civic body

The civic body has got permission from the state government and Bombay High Court to set up a special small causes court to deal with the cases related to property tax in the Mumbai jurisdiction. This court will be the first of its kind in the city.

According to the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation report, there are 2,171 cases (up to March 31, 2009), related to property tax disputes, pending in various courts result Rs 1,671 crore frizzed for years.

“The result of the special designated court on property tax matters would be helpful for the corporation as it would deal with specialised issue. The approach of the court would be focused and specialised,” Advocate Rizwan Siddiquie.

He added that the special court would not only expedite matters but also would benefit other courts as it would take away burden from the other courts.

The cash-strapped BMC hopes earn revenue which are stuck in the cases.

As per the directives, the civic body has identified the plot in Kandivli (E) to set up the courtroom and a flat in Oberoi building, Goregaon (E), has been reserved for accommodation facility of the judge.

“It was our demand to permit the small causes court and finally we got permission. The small causes chief judge visited the court place and approved it,” said N.A. Pathan, assessor and collector of the BMC.

The BMC will spend Rs 65.72 lakh to set up the court, including sitting arrangement of the staff. The proposal has been put before the Standing Committee, which deals with financial matters. It will come up for discussion on Monday.

Municipal Commissioner Swadheen Kshatriya asked the committee to permit it to sign a pact with the state government. “We will clear the proposal as we desperately need a special court,” said Ravindra Waikar, chairman of the Standing Committee.