Bookies bet on hung Assembly | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bookies bet on hung Assembly

mumbai Updated: Oct 03, 2009 02:24 IST
Manish Pachouly

Maharashtra will likely have a hung Assembly.

Predicting this, bookies on Thursday opened bets for the number of seats that political parties will get in the impending Assembly election.

Rs 15,000 crore in bets are riding on this election, and going by their predictions, no coalition will get a majority, but the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) and the Third Front could play a major role in pushing a coalition to the magic figure of 145.

The bookies have predicted 120 to 130 seats for the Congress-Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) coalition. The Shiv Sena and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) together will get 115 to 125 seats, they believe.

“The two coalitions will have to depend on the MNS, which we believe will get 6 to 7 seats; the Third Front will get 10 to 12,” a Mumbai bookie said requesting anonymity, as betting is illegal.

Besides, some Independents and smaller parties could also prove to be helpful, he said. The lower the rate, the greater the chances of that result occurring. The odds on the Congress getting 75 seats are 22 paise for a rupee placed on bet, meaning if a punter wins he will not only get his rupee back but also an additional 22 paise.

The Congress getting 80 seats will yield 47 paise while 85 seats mean Rs 1.10 for a rupee on bet. The NCP getting 35 seats will give 32 paise, 40 seats is 54 paise, and 45 seats is Rs 1.35 for a rupee bet.

The rate for the Sena getting 50 seats is 24 paise, 55 seats is 62 paise, 60 seats is Rs 1.15 and 65 seats is Rs 1.9 per rupee bet.

For the BJP, the rate for 50 seats is 24 paise, 55 seats is 68 paise, and 60 seats is Rs 1.6 for a rupee bet. The rate for the MNS getting 6 seats is 35 paise, and 7 seats is Rs 1.2 for a rupee bet. The bookie said rates for Mumbai candidates will be opened next week, followed by odds on the prospective chief minister.