Chavan faces breach of privilege charge | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Chavan faces breach of privilege charge

mumbai Updated: Apr 03, 2012 01:17 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Shiv Sena

Shiv Sena leader Subhash Desai, on Monday, served a notice on chief minister Prithviraj Chavan accusing him of breaching the privilege of the legislative assembly. Desai accused Chavan of regularising an illegal structure in the controversial Patliputra Housing Society, even when the legislative assembly was in the process of discussing the irregularities.

The Patliputra Housing Society in the Four Bungalows area of Andheri is built on land leased from the government and has among its members several senior bureaucrats and police officials.

The Kamadhenu shopping complex that stands on its premises has been pulled up for alleged violation of rules regarding use of space. A notice served by the BMC said the shopping complex was built by merging the space allocated for small shops.

On March 27, when the issue came up for discussion during the budget session, Chavan, through a written reply, said that the 'illegal' shopping complex had been regularised a month earlier, on February 18. Chavan admitted that the local police had delayed filing a first information report in the case. He has asked the police commissioner to file his report on the case within one month. The chief minister said he may appoint a judicial commission, if the commissioner finds serious irregularities.

Desai said that a question concerning the case was kept pending in the assembly in the winter session last December and hence the CM, who heads the urban development, should have waited till the matter was decided in the assembly. He accused Chavan of ordering the regularisation. Speaker Dilip Walse Patil will decide on the breach of privilege notice in due course of time.

Among the members of the controversial society are municipal commissioner Subodh Kumar, urban development secretary Manu Kumar Srivastava, former chief secretaries Johny Joseph and JP Dange, MMRDA commissioner Rahul Asthana, forest secretary Pravin Pardeshi, IPS officer Satyapal Singh and several other serving and retired administrative and police officers.