CM’s region remains a Cong stronghold | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 26, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CM’s region remains a Cong stronghold

The presence of an incumbent and a former chief minister seems to have done wonders for the Congress party’s fortunes in Marathwada.

mumbai Updated: Oct 23, 2009 01:48 IST
Zeeshan Shaikh

The presence of an incumbent and a former chief minister seems to have done wonders for the Congress party’s fortunes in Marathwada.

The grand old party of Indian polity has taken a giant leap in Maharashtra’s dust bowl winning 17 of the 47 seats. The party had, in 2004, managed to win only seven seats. The performance of Chief Minister (CM) Ashok Chavan in Bhokar where he managed to win by a huge margin of 1.07 lakh votes symbolised the dominance of the Congress in the region.

The Congress managed to win six out of nine seats in Nanded, the home district of the CM. Two seats here went to the Nationalist Congress Party and one to an independent candidate.

The Shiv Sena-Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) could not open their account in the region. Among the least developed regions in the state, Marathwada sees load shedding of up to 12 hours every day. But the saffron alliance failed to cash in on this pet peeve of the people here.

The BJP, which had managed to win 11 seats in 2004 from the region, could only retain three seats this time around. The BJP bore the brunt of rebellion in the Sena. One of the three seats the BJP won is Parli, where Pankaja Munde managed to cash in on her father and Beed native, Gopinath Munde’s goodwill.

The Congress managed to win three of the six seats in Latur district, the home turf of former CM Vilasrao Deshmukh. Deshmukh’s son Amit Deshmukh won from Latur city.

The Sena, which was plagued by rebellion, paid a heavy price in Aurangabad. The Sena-BJP combine had won five of the seven seats in Aurangabad in 2004. This time, the number dropped to three. The Sena’s performance in the region was largely affected by the rebellion of Pradeep Jaiswal who managed to win as an independent candidate.

Gorai: Pandit Badamrao Lahurao (NCP)
Majalgaon: P Sundarrao Solanke (NCP)
Beed: Kshirsagar Jaydattaji Sonajirao (NCP)
Ashti: Dhas Suresh Ramachandra (NCP)
Kaiz S.C: Dr Vimaltai Mundada (NCP)
Parli: P Munde Palve! (BJP)
Latur Rural: S Vaijanath Gyandev (Congress)
Latur City: Amit Vilasrao Deshmukh (Congress)
Ahmadpur: Babasaheb M Rao Patil (RSPS)
Udgir (S.C): Sudhakar Sangram Bhalerao (BJP)
Nilanga: Nilangekar S Diliprao Patil (BJP)
Ausa: Basawaraj M Patil (Congress)
Umarga: Chougule D Dhondiram (Shiv Sena)
Tuljapur: Chavan M Devrao (Congress)
Osmanabad: Omraje Nimbalkar (Shiv Sena)
Paranda: Mote Rahul Mahrudra (NCP)
Kinwat: Jadhav P Hemsingh (Naik) (NCP)
Hadagaon: Pawar M Nivrutirao (Cong)
Bhokar: Ashok S Chavan (Cong)
Nanded North: D.P. Sawant (Cong)
Nanded South: Omprakash G Pokarna (Cong)
Loha: Dhodge Shankaranna (NCP)
Naigaon: Chavan V Balvantrao (Ind)
Degloor S.C: Antapurkar Raosaheb (Cong)
Mukhed: Patil H Venketrao (Cong)
Basmath: Dandegaokar J Raosaheb (NCP)
Kalamnuri: Satav Rajiv Shankarrao (Cong)
Hingoli: Patil Bhaurao Baburao (Cong)
Jintur: Kadam R Wamanrao (Cong)
Parbhani: Jadhav Sanjay Haribhau
(Shiv Sena)
Gangakhed: Ghandat (Mama) (Ind)
Patri: Renge M Kalyanrao (Shiv Sena)
Partur: Jethaliya S Kanhaiyalal (Ind)
Ghansawangi: Rajeshbhayya Tope (NCP)
Jalna: Goryantal K Kishanrao (Cong)
Badnapur (S.C.): Santosh V Sambre (Shiv Sena)
Bokardan: Chandrakant P Danve (NCP)
Sillod: Abdul Sattar Abdul Nabi (Cong)
Kannad: Jadhav Harshvardhan Raibhan (MNS)
Phulambri: Dr Kale Kalyan Vaijntharao (Cong)
Aurangabad Central: Jaiswal Pradeep Shivnarayan (Ind)
Aurangabad West: Shirsat Sanjay Pandurang (Shiv Sena)
Aurangabad East: Darda Rajendra Jawaharlal (Cong)
Paithan: Sanjay Waghchaure (NCP)
Gangapur: Annasaheb Mane Patil (Shiv Sena)
Vaijapur: R.M.Vani (Shiv Sena)