Cong-NCP alliance wins Thane civic standing committee poll | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 04, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong-NCP alliance wins Thane civic standing committee poll

mumbai Updated: Oct 17, 2012 01:20 IST
Megha Pol
Megha Pol
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

In a twist to the power equation in Thane, the Congress-NCP alliance won the standing committee chairman’s seat, dealing a blow to the Shiv Sena-BJP rule. Congress corporator Ravindra Phatak was elected chairman of standing committee through lottery system as both candidates had an equal number of votes.

“This is the victory of NCP-Congress alliance. We will work together towards the development of the city,” Phatak said.

Although the Sena has the mayor’s seat, it is the standing committee which takes decisions related to budgetary allocation and new projects, thus giving more power to the democratic front (Lokshahi Aghadi).

The Shiv Sena-BJP alliance in Thane had established their majority with the help of MNS candidates. However, when Sena nominated Bharatiya Samajwadi Party (BSP) corporator, Vilas Kamble, as the chairman, the MNS supported the democratic front taking the final tally of votes to 65 each.

Manish Joshi, Thane Municipal Corporation (TMC) secretary said, “It was collectively decided that the candidate will be elected by lottery system as there was a tie.”