Cong plays safe, doesn’t nominate SRK for award | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong plays safe, doesn’t nominate SRK for award

mumbai Updated: Apr 18, 2010 01:50 IST
HT Correspondent

The Congress-led state government has decided to play safe by not nominating actor Shah Rukh Khan for the state’s prestigious Raj Kapoor award for achievement in films.

The nominees selected for the award are actor Manoj Kumar and filmmaker Ashutosh Gowarikar.

Following new reports that Khan would be given the lifetime award, the opposition parties had raised objections.

The Opposition, especially Shiv Sena, was angry with the government for ensuring release of Shah Rukh Khan starrer My Name is Khan though the latter had announced to stall its release.

The Sena was protesting following Khan’s comments that he was keen to hire Pakistani players for his IPL team.

Sources said the names were finalised in a meeting presided over by Chief Minister Ashok Chavan on Saturday.

The state government gives awards in the name of Bollywood legends Raj Kapoor and V Shantaram. The awards are given for special achievement as well as lifetime achievement in films.

The awards are expected to be announced by the state government on Monday.

Besides, Gowarikar and Manoj Kumar, the state will be give the V Shantaram award to actor-filmmaker Sachin Pilgaonkar and Marathi actress Asha Kale, said the sources.

The award distribution ceremony will take place at the Gateway of India as part of the celebration of 50 years of Maharashtra’s formation.