Fadnavis to sack non-BJP officials appointed by previous government | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Fadnavis to sack non-BJP officials appointed by previous government

mumbai Updated: Nov 28, 2014 00:49 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

A day after sacking Cidco chairman Pramod Hindurao, a political appointee of the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), chief minister Devendra Fadnavis has decided to remove all other office bearers not affiliated to the BJP, in a few days.

At present, there are 42 boards and corporations, some of which are headed by bureaucrats and others by political leaders.

Some Congress leaders, such as Ganesh Patil (Annasaheb Patil Backward Class Finance Corporation), Javed Shroff (Maulana Azad Finance Corporation) and Sushiben Shah (women’s commission) resigned after the new government came to power.

However, some NCP representatives stayed put, in anticipation that the BJP would not ask them to quit, in view of the party’s offer of outside support to the government.

Some board members even continued to work nonchalantly, burdening the exchequer by incurring expenditure for travel, lodging and boarding.

Sources revealed the Cabinet ministers have been asked to remove such appointees on the boards and corporations they control. Once these leaders are ousted, the BJP will appoint its representatives, and offer some seats to its pre-poll allies and even the Shiv Sena, if it joins the government. Some of the sought-after posts come with many perks and privileges and are used to rehabilitate leaders who don’t get included in the council of ministers.

Leaders from the erstwhile government such as Yusuf Abrahani, Prasad Lad and Manikrao Jagtap have not relinquished their posts in the Mhada yet. They are expected to be removed if they don’t quit.

Saying he had not received a removal order yet, Abrahani told HT, “I will go by the decision taken by the government.”