Indian nuclear plant operator bags Intl Excellence Award | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indian nuclear plant operator bags Intl Excellence Award

mumbai Updated: Feb 05, 2010 22:19 IST
Highlight Story

A director with the Tarapur Atomic Power Station is among the eight recipients of the International Excellence Award given by World Association of Nuclear Operators (WANO).

Shashi Bhattacharya, Station Director of Tarapur Atomic Power Station Units 1 and 2 of Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL) was awarded the Nuclear Excellence Award by WANO, an NPCIL release said in Mumbai on Friday.

This is the third time an Indian operator has won the award given to promote excellence in safe operation of commercial nuclear power reactors across the world.

Earlier, Guntur Nageswara Rao, the then station director of Kaiga Atomic Power Plant bagged the award in 2007, while R Bhiksham, the then Station Director, Kakrapar Atomic Power Station was conferred this distinction in 2002.

Other nuclear operators to receive the award were Bill Coley (formerly of British Energy Group Plc), Rafael Fernandez de la Garza (Comision Federal de Electricidad), Rhonda Lightfoot (Bruce Power), Alexander Lokshin (Rosatom State Corporation) Amir Shahkarami (Exelon Generation Corporation) Viktor Shevaldin (Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Lithuania) and Zen Yunlong (China Guangdong Nulcear Power Holding Co. Ltd.).

WANO was formed in 1989 to improve safety of every nuclear power plant in the world. The award is bagged after rigorous nomination and selection process.