NCP agrees to give Nanded seat to Cong in council polls | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 05, 2016-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

NCP agrees to give Nanded seat to Cong in council polls

mumbai Updated: Nov 01, 2010 02:44 IST

Highlight Story

Beleaguered Maharashtra Chief Minister Ashok Chavan has received support from unexpected quarters, with coalition partner NCP agreeing to give up the Nanded local bodies constituency to the Congress for the upcoming elections to the State Legislative Council.

Even as Chavan was in Delhi yesterday to present his side of the story in the Adarsh society scam to the party highcommand, State Congress and NCP leaders met here to finalise the seat sharing pact for the November 27 biennial elections to the Upper House of the State Legislature for 11 seats.

As per the pact, NCP has decided to leave Nanded local bodies seat for the Congress despite having its own sitting MLC. Nanded is the home district of Chavan. However, it did not accept Congress' demand to leave Yavatmal, the home town of state Congress chief Manikrao Thakre.

From the NCP side, Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal, Power Minister Ajit Pawar, Home Minister R R Patil and state NCP chief Madhukar Pichad were present, while the Congress was represented by Thakre, Revenue Minister Narayan Rane and Textile Minister Mohammed Arif Naseem Khan.

The Congress will contest the Nashik Graduates seat as the independent candidate was a rebel Congressman and joined the party after winning the by-election last year, defeating an NCP nominee, NCP spokesman Prakash Binsale said.

The NCP will field its nominees in Aurangabad teachers, Jalgaon, Sangli-Satara, Yavatmal, Pune, and the Bhandara-Gondia local bodies constituencies.

State NCP president Madhukar Pichad and his Congress counterpart Thakre will decide whether to provide outside support or field candidates for Nagpur and Konkan teachers constituencies, and Amravati graduates seat.

The notification for the polls will be issued on November 3 and the last date of withdrawal of nomination is November 13.