Only 1 corporator resigned after becoming an MLA | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Only 1 corporator resigned after becoming an MLA

mumbai Updated: Jan 25, 2010 01:14 IST
HT Correspondent

Congress corporator Amin Patel is the only cor-porator among eight to resign from his post after he elected to the Legislative Assembly from Mumbadevi constituency.

Seven other corporators — three from Congress, two from Shiv Sena, BJP and MNS each, continue to enjoy the post of a corporator as well as an Member of the Legislative Assembly for the next two years.

“An MLA’s job is a full-time job and your voters should not get suffer,” said Amin Patel. “I waited for two months after elections so that I could make budget provision for the next years civic budget for my corporator ward,” he added.

Patel said, “Since, now that I am an MLA and also the chairman of Maulana Azad Minorities Financial Development Corporation, I believe that some other competent member of the party should be given an opportunity to contest elections for the post of municipal corporator. I have therefore submitted my resignation from the post,” he added.

Other seven city corporators think differently. All four Congress corporators who fought the elections, Aslam Sheikh (Malad West), Rajhans Singh (Dindoshi), Amin Patel (Mumbadevi) and Ramesh Singh Thakur (Kandivli East) entered the assembly. Ravindra Waikar (Jogeshwari East) and Bala Sawant (Bandra East) of Shiv Sena, Yogesh Sagar (Kandivli East) of BJP and Mangesh Sangle (Vikhroli) of MNS are the other corporators who won the polls.

“Although this is a full time job, my party is not sure about winning the by-election poll in the same ward,” said two of seven corporators, who are now MLAs, on condition of anonymity.

In the recent assembly polls, MLA Bashir Patel had lost his seat to Congress corporator Patel (Mumbadevi).

Amin had entered the civic body as a nominated corporator of Congress and was first elected as a corporator in 2007 in the civic poll.

He was then elected as an MLA in the assembly polls in October 2009.