President’s medal for 20 policemen from Maharashtra | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

President’s medal for 20 policemen from Maharashtra

mumbai Updated: Jan 27, 2015 20:02 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
President pranab mukherjee

In an honour for Maharashtra, 20 policemen from the state have won the president’s medal for gallantry, the announcement for which was made on Sunday. Three of them have been awarded posthumously.

Prominent among those who will receive the police medal for gallantry, include Suvez Haque, superintendent of police (SP), Palghar, for his service when he was posted in the Maoist-affected Gadchiroli district.

Of the three posthumous awards, two are for police naik Giridhar Atram and constable Sunil Madavi. The third is for head constable Ganpat Madavi, who has been awarded the president’s police medal for gallantry posthumously.

Maharashtra has ranked second with 20 gallantry medals this year, next to CRPF with 32 gallantry medals in the country. Those winning the gallantry award are from Gadchiroli and Gondia districts, including seven who were part of the encounter in Gondia where Maoist cadres were shot dead. PSI Ankush Mane of Gadchiroli has bagged the award for the second consecutive year. For two deputy superintendents of police, their first posting of the career -- Gadchiroli -- has won them the award. Most other winners are tribal recruits from Gadchiroli.

Additional director general of police (ADG) (law and order) KL Bishnoi, ADG (railways) Sanjay Barve, along with three others, have been awarded the president’s medal for distinguished service.

Around 43 policemen from Maharashtra were awarded the police medal for meritorious service. Prominent among them this year is Suresh Mekala, who is the commissioner of police, Amravati.

Twenty-eight officials of the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), included Maharashtra Cadre IPS officer, Rajkumar Vhatkar, who is currently posted as deputy inspector general of police (CBI), Mumbai, have been given medals for meritorious service.