Sadhvi to travel to MP for probe | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sadhvi to travel to MP for probe

mumbai Updated: Mar 30, 2011 02:00 IST
HT Correspondent

A designated MCOCA court on Tuesday allowed the Madhya Pradesh police to take sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, a prime accused in the September 2008 Malegaon bomb blast, to Devas to be produced before a local court in connection with the murder of RSS activist Sunil Joshi. Joshi, himself a suspect in the Samjhauta Express blast, was shot dead at Devas on December 29, 2007.

The court directed jail authorities to make necessary arrangements for the sadhvi’s travel to Devas. Special public prosecutor Rohini Salian confirmed the development saying the MP police on Tuesday produced a warrant issued by the Devas court directing them to produce the sadhvi on Wednesday. “Doctors from JJ Hospital have recommended that the sadhvi be taken to Devas either by train or flight,” Salian added.

On Tuesday, the Hindustan Times had reported that the dean of Grant Medical College had, in a report submitted to the National Investigation Agency, said the sadhvi was fit to travel to Madhya Pradesh for investigations. Interestingly, the medical report said the sadhvi complained of “illness only when police interrogated her”. “As soon as the officials leave, she becomes comfortable,” the report stated. The sadhvi has been admitted to JJ Hospital since December 5, 2010 after she repeatedly complained of various ailments.

A blast ripped through the powerloom town after an explosive-laden motorcycle went off on September 28, 2008 killing seven and injuring 70 others. The Maharashtra Anti-Terrorism Squad arrested 12 persons, including the sadhvi, in connection with the blast. The sadhvi was arrested on October 23, 2008. The other accused include Shivnarayansingh Kalsangara, Shyam Bhanwarlal Sahu, retired major Ramesh Upadhyaya, Ajay Eknath Rahirkar, Sameer Kulkarni, Rakesh Dhawade, Jagdish Chintaman Mhatre, Lt col Srikant Prasad Purohit, Sudhakar Udayban Dwivedi alias Dayanand Pandey alias Swami Amritanand, Sudhakar Chaturvedi and Praveen Mutalik.