Sanjay Raut to get another term in Rajya Sabha | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sanjay Raut to get another term in Rajya Sabha

mumbai Updated: May 27, 2010 01:08 IST
Highlight Story

Shiv Sena spokesperson and executive editor of party mouthpiece Saamna Sanjay Raut is likely to get another term in the Rajya Sabha.

The Sena on Wednesday formally announced Raut’s re-nomination for the Upper House and that of senior leader Diwakar Raote and Anil Parab for the state legislative Council.

“Shiv Sena executive president Uddhav Thackeray has finalised Raut’s name for Rajya Sabha and Raote and Parab’s for the Council seats,” a party spokesperson said.

Elections to six Rajya Sabha seats are scheduled for June 17. The polls for the ten Council seats are on June 10. The date for filing nominations is May 31.

Sena’s ally, the Bharatiya Janata Party, is likely to field senior leader Gopinath Munde’s nephew, Dhananjay Munde, for the Council and party’s national treasurer Piyush Goyal for the Rajya Sabha. Others in the fray for the Council include former minister Shobhatai Fadnavis and Bhai Girkar.

According to the present party position in the state legislative Assembly, the Sena-BJP alliance can get three candidates elected.

The Congress is expected to join hands with ally, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), for the polls. Both are likely to win two Rajya Sabha seats and will try to win seven Council seats as an alliance. The parties were in talks Wednesday evening and had not reached any consensus on the candidates.

In the legislative council, although the Sena has three out of the total ten seats for which elections will be held, it cannot contest all the three seats again due to the party’s changed strength in the Council.

Terms of Members of Parliament (MP) including Raut, Sharad Joshi (supported by the Sena-BJP alliance), Vijay Darda (Congress), Tariq Anwar (NCP) and Rahul Bajaj (supported by the NCP) will end on June 7. Another Congress MP Shivraj Patil has become the Governor of Punjab.

The BJP said the the party’s Parliamentary Board will decide on the two candidates for the Council and one for the Rajya Sabha.

“Our Parliamentary Board will make an announcement by the end of this week,” BJP spokesperson Madhav Bhandari said.