Sena leader Ramdas Kadam among 7 members to take oath as MLC | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sena leader Ramdas Kadam among 7 members to take oath as MLC

mumbai Updated: Jan 04, 2010 15:04 IST

Shiv Sena leader Ramdas Kadam was among the seven newly elected persons to take oath as members of the 78-member Maharashtra Legislative Council on Monday.

Kadam, earlier leader of opposition in the Legislative Assembly was defeated in the October 2009 assembly elections where he contested from Guhagar in Ratnagiri district.

He was elected to the Legislative council from the Mumbai local self government bodies which sends two members to the Upper House of the state legislature.

Bhai Jagtap of the Congress was the other winner from the Mumbai Local Bodies constituency.

Amrish Patel (Congress) from Dhule, Gopikishen Bajuria (Shiv Sena) from Akola-Buldhana-Washim, Arun Jagtap (Independent) from Ahmednagar Local bodies, Rajendra Mulak (Congress) from Nagpur Local Bodies, Mahadevrao Mahadik (Congress) from Kolhapur, and Deepak Salunke (NCP) from Solapur local bodies also took oath.

The biennial elections took place last month to fill in vacancies caused on January one due to retirement of the sitting MLCs from these eight self-government local bodies constituencies.

Sudhir Tambe who was elected from Nashik Graduates seat took oath when the Legislature was in session at Nagpur.

The oath was administered by Legislative Council chairman Shivajirao Deshmukh at Vidhan Bhavan Monday morning.