Sena wins presidential election in Ambernath council | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sena wins presidential election in Ambernath council

mumbai Updated: Nov 06, 2012 01:17 IST
Kiran Sonawane

Dealing a blow to the NCP-Cong-RPI-MNS alliance, the Shiv Sena-BJP-Independents alliance won the Ambernath municipal council president election by two votes.

Shiv Sena candidate Sunil Choudhari got 24 votes while Congress-NCP-RPI-MNS alliance candidate Sadashiv Patil got 22 votes.

Three corporators from the RPI and one corporator from the NCP remained absent during the election on Monday.

Four months ago, when six MNS corporators left the Shiv Sena-BJP alliance, most political experts had predicted that 17 years of Sena’s power would end after the election.

But, Shiv Sena has managed to keep the power in its hands.

Sunil Choudhari, president, said, “This is Shiv Sena’s victory. I am just a candidate. I am thankful to all the senior leaders who entrusted me with the responsibility for the second time.”

“I had taken up projects worth Rs400 crore in Ambernath. Work on some of the projects has begun. Now, my priority is to follow up with the government to clear all the projects. My aim is to make Ambernath a metro. I plan to keep working hard to achieve this goal.”

Mahesh Tapase, NCP leader said, “I have informed the party high command about the absence of NCP corporator Nasir Kunjali.”

“I have requested the party to take strong action, so that in future no other corporator could act against the party line,” said Tapase.

The Ambernath council election was conducted in presence of the tehsildar Balasaheb Khandekar and chief officer Rajesh Kanade.