Students go online for IIT applications | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Students go online for IIT applications

mumbai Updated: Dec 16, 2011 01:17 IST
Bhavya Dore

More candidates from the Bombay zone have applied online rather than offline for the first time since applications for the Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Joint Entrance Exam (JEE) went online two years ago.

The last date for applications for JEE 2012 was Thursday.

The Bombay zone includes Maharashtra, Goa, Gujarat, parts of Rajasthan and Belgaum in Karnataka. This year around 75% of the 75,000-odd applicants in total, applied online compared to last year when it was the reverse: with 75% of the 85,000-odd students applying offline.

“In the first two years the online response was not that good,” said AV Mahajan, chairman of JEE-2012 at IIT-Bombay. “Now people seem to be more confident about the online process and it also costs less to apply online.” This was also the first year that successful candidates at JEE 2011 had filled in their choices online, a process that went off glitch-free.

The number of applications from candidates in the Bombay zone has fallen slightly this year to 75,000, compared to 85,000 last year. However, this figure is not yet final because the JEE office is still counting applications and will be accepting those applications that arrived after the deadline if they were postmarked before December 15.

Even so, the fall in the figure could be because Udaipur, which was previously under the Bombay zone has been shifted to the Delhi zone for JEE 2012. Further, candidates from Alwar and Sikar, who would have come under the Jaipur centre, will now have their own centres, also under the Delhi zone.

“The numbers could have been offset as a result of some of the load going to the Delhi zone,” said Mahajan.

IIT-Delhi is the organising IIT for this year’s JEE. The exam will be held on April 12, 2012 across 22 centres in the Bombay zone this year. These includes four new centres in Maharashtra