Thane district will be bifurcated on May 1 | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Thane district will be bifurcated on May 1

mumbai Updated: Mar 15, 2013 02:11 IST
HT Correspondent

State revenue minister Balasaheb Thorat told the state assembly on Thursday that the decision on the division of Thane district will be announced on May 1, the foundation day of the state.

The division, which is expected to cost the state exchequer Rs. 200 crore, will require the formation of various departments.

Divisional commissioner of Konkan division has recommended the headquarters of the new district be based in Palghar. The report, which was submitted to CM Chavan a few months ago, has got an in-principle nod from the government.

Most of the 52 departments which need to be formed for the new district are in place, including an additional collectorate at Javhar.

The report states that since there is no division of talukas and constituencies needed for the formation of the new district, opposition from political parties is unlikely. The new district will have Vasai, Javhar, Dahanu, Vikramgarh, Wada, Mokhada and Talsari as talukas.

The existing Thane district will retain Shahapur, Kalyan, Murbad, Ambernath, Ulhasnagar and Bhivandi talukas. The idea of division was first mooted in 1993, and has since been debated with voices in favour and against it.

The revenue minister also announced a dedicated administrative complex at Kalwa on a 72-acre land.

In reply to a question, he said in the assembly that the complex will have administrative offices, Dr Ambedkar social justice centre, a university, a sports complex and a convention centre named after former chief minister Vilasrao Deshmukh.