Top babus to depose before adarsh commission | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Top babus to depose before adarsh commission

mumbai Updated: Nov 09, 2011 01:42 IST
HT Correspondent

State chief secretary Ratnakar Gaikwad, revenue secretary Swadheen Kshatriya and former municipal commissioner JM Phatak will be among the 12 serving and retired bureaucrats who will depose before the Adarsh Inquiry Commission between November 8 and December 23.

Gaikwad was heading the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA), when the body issued an occupation certificate to the controversial housing society. Phatak, whose son owns a flat in the society, was the commissioner when the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) issued several clearances to the society. Among the other top bureaucrats likely to be examined by the commission are urban development secretary TC Benjamin and MMRDA's additional metropolitan commissioner SVR Srinivasan. In addition, retired bureaucrat Ramanand Tiwari, whose kin owns a flat in the society, will have to depose before the commission.

The others who will be examined include retired MMRDA town planner Umesh Luktuke, BMC's deputy director (town planning) Sanjay Kurvey, retired deputy secretary (revenue) CB Mhatre, retired additional chief secretary Chitkala Zutshi, principal secretary (planning) Sitaram Kunte, and deputy secretary (urban development) PV Deshmukh. The commission will also examine architects Paresh Kapse of Team One Architects and Datta Khandekar. The commission will also hear former Defence Estate Officer Saurav Ray, who raised the red flag over the transfer of land. Ray is currently serving in Cambodia with the Indian Embassy.