Will CBI probe roles of politicians too? | mumbai | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Will CBI probe roles of politicians too?

mumbai Updated: Jan 30, 2011 00:44 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Though a first information report (FIR) has been filed, it is still not clear whether the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) will probe the roles played by politicians in the Adarsh scam.

Sources said the FIR mentions the name of former chief minister Ashok Chavan, but what about the other politicians?

It is also not clear whether the CBI would investigate what roles were played by his two predecessors, union energy minister Sushilkumar Shinde, union rural development minister Vilasrao Deshmukh and former revenue minister Shivajirao Nilangekar.

Adarsh was allotted the plot when Shinde was chief minister. Any major land allotment in Mumbai has to be cleared by the chief minister.

Deshmukh was heading the urban development department when the controversial society was given more floor space index (FSI) to grow vertically. This FSI was given by allotting an adjoining BEST plot for the society and using its FSI for the society's plot.

Also, an adjoining road was reduced to give more area to the society.

Then urban secretary Ramanand Tiwari’s name is mentioned in the FIR, but it is not yet clear whether the then CM would face action for the same.

Chavan was revenue minister, when the list of the members of Adarsh was increased.

“We expected central ministers like Vilasrao Deshmukh and Sushilkumar Shinde would be named in the FIR because they have also played a major role in this scam,” said Opposition leader in the Assembly Eknath Khadse on Saturday.

The only politician whose name is among the accused is Kanhaiyalal Gidwani, former Congress legislator.

Gidwani is one of the promoters of the society.

Chavan had to quit the chief minister’s post after names of his three in-laws were found in the list of members of Adarsh society.

Other politicians who were members of the society include Shiv Sena leader Suresh Prabhu, former assembly speaker Babasaheb Kupekar and NCP legislator Jitendra Awhad.