Most blogged artists: The xx drop Great Gatsby track | music | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Most blogged artists: The xx drop Great Gatsby track

music Updated: Apr 27, 2013 14:42 IST
Highlight Story


On Friday, April 26, indie-electro outfit The xx are causing a buzz on the Hype Machine's most blogged artists charts thanks to their latest single "Together" which will feature on "The Great Gatsby," and Jessie Ware re-enters the charts thanks to her take on Martika's "Love Thy Will Be Done."

After American singer/songwriter Lana Del Rey dropped her contribution to the forthcoming movie "The Great Gatsby" earlier this week, English outfit The xx are getting in on the act dropping their new track "Together."

The xx's "Together" will, as with Lana Del Rey's "Young & Beautiful," feature in Baz Luhrmann's forthcoming movie adaptation of F. Scott Fitzgerald's classic book "The Great Gatsby" due out in cinemas in May. "Together" has been generally very well received across the music blogs with Hand Clap Movement calling it "an extremely moody piece of downtrodden pop that hits all of the emotional highs"; and The School Of Abuse writing ['Together'] ticks along with haunting subtlety, as though the metronome acts as the heartbeat of an unfolding tragedy."

Stream "Together" on Soundcloud at:

Elsewhere in the Hype Machine's most blogged artists chart, British singer/songwriter Jessie Ware is causing a stir with her cover of Martika's 1991 hit "Love Thy Will Be Done," which was originally written with Prince. Music blog Pop On And On simply describes the track as "stunning," while The 405 writes "'Love Thy Will Be Done' is given a subtle makeover on this version, with the intensity of the big-gospel styled backing vocals turned up a notch to joyously compliment Jessie's vocal."

Stream Jessie Ware's cover of "Love Thy Will Be Done" on Soundcloud at:

The Hype Machine's most blogged artists on April 26 at 10:00 am GMT are:

01. Disclosure (no change)

02. Lana Del Rey (no change

03. MGMT (no change)

04. Janelle Monáe (+1)

05. Grizzly Bear (-1)

06. Classixx (+1)

07. Jessie Ware (re-entry)

08. Crystal Fighters (re-entry)

09. Miguel (re-entry)

10. The xx (re-entry)

Launched in 2005, The Hype Machine aggregates information from more than 1,000 music blogs worldwide. Known for identifying up-and-coming artists, the site enables music fans to easily find out what music is hot in the blogosphere and to instantly hear and buy mp3s.