5 existing Metro stations will share Rajiv Chowk’s burden

  • Subhendu Ray, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Jan 27, 2012 01:11 IST

The maddening rush of commuters at Delhi Metro's biggest and busiest interchange station Rajiv Chowk will be a matter of past within a few years.

In phase 3, Delhi Metro plans to redevelop its five existing stations into interchange stations. This measure, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation believes, will decongest Rajiv Chowk by at least 50% in 2016. These stations are Rajouri Garden, Netaji Subhas Place, Mandi House, Hauz Khas and Kalkaji Mandir.

"These stations together presently register daily ridership of about 70,000 commuters and are expected to register ridership of over 5 lakh commuters after completion of phase 3 in 2016," said a DMRC spokesperson.

Rajiv Chowk Metro station, located in Connaught Place, is the busiest station of the 190-km Metro network. The yellow (Jahangirpuri-Gurgaon) and blue (Dwarka-Noida) lines, which together carry about 12 lakh commuters daily, have an interchange at this station. Rajiv Chowk station alone registers a footfall of about 5 lakh passengers daily.

Mandi House is being specially redeveloped as an interchange station for this purpose with additional platforms and concourses. About 70,000 more passengers are expected to use it as an interchange facility.

Rajouri Garden, a station on the blue line, is being redeveloped as an interchange station with the Mukundpur - Yamuna Vihar corridor in such a way that commuters from all over north and west Delhi will be able to use this station as an interchange to reach Mayur Vihar or Anand Vihar without going to Rajiv Chowk.

Netaji Subhas Place, a station on the Red Line  (Dilshad Garden - Rithala) is being redeveloped as an interchange station with the Mukundpur - Yamuna Vihar corridor in such a way that commuters from the red line will be able to reach East Delhi (Mayur Vihar/ Anand Vihar) directly without changing trains at Kashmere Gate and Rajiv Chowk.

Hauz Khas and Kalkaji Mandir, on the Janakpuri West - Botanical Garden corridor are being developed as interchange stations so that commuters travelling from Gurgaon on the Yellow Line can avoid going to Rajiv Chowk and change trains at Haus Khas to travel to south Delhi and Noida.

Similarly, commuters coming from YMCA Chowk (Faridabad) or Badarpur side need not travel to Rajiv Chowk to go to Noida or Vaishali. They will be able to change trains at Kalkaji.


also read

For Hindi literature, Hans writes a story of grit and revival

blog comments powered by Disqus