A bittersweet victory for Rajnath Singh

  • Peeyush Khandelwal
  • |
  • Updated: May 17, 2009 04:27 IST

Rajnath Singh (58), Bharatiya Janata Party
Winner: Ghaziabad

There was a bittersweet edge to his party’s national loss.

Rajnath Singh, national president of the BJP, won the Ghaziabad Lok Sabha seat.

Singh defeated Congress’ sitting MP Surendra Prakash Goyal by a margin of 90,681 votes from a seat where 16 candidates were in the fray.

Singh led the tally in Ghaziabad, Sahibabad, Muradnagar and Dhaulana assembly segments but lagged behind in the Loni segment, where Goyal secured more votes.

Singh also secured the highest number of postal ballots, ahead of Goyal and BSP’s Amarpal Sharma.

BJP’s Ghaziabad unit expressed satisfaction over Singh’s victory but celebrations remained low-key because of the BJP-led NDA’s poor showing across the country.


also read

Hundreds of mobile towers sealed in Delhi, call drops to intensify

blog comments powered by Disqus