Feb poll dates for three northeast states announced

  • UNI, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Jan 11, 2013 16:45 IST

Tripura will go to the polls on February 14, while elections to the Nagaland and Meghalaya Assemblies will take place on February 23, the Election Commission announced on Friday.

Chief Election Commissioner VS Sampath announced at a news conference in New Delhi. The counting of votes in all the three states will be taken up on February 28.

All the three states have 60 Assembly seats each.

Meghalaya has 2,485 and Nagaland 2,023 polling stations.

Tripura has 3,018 polling stations.

Mr Sampath said the model code of conduct comes into force immediately but the poll code will in no way affect the legislative business of Parliament, whose budget session will start third week of next month.


also read

Dengue haunts Delhi but this year’s strain not identified yet

blog comments powered by Disqus