Nine Metro stations to remain closed tomorrow

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Dec 24, 2012 21:48 IST

Nine Metro stations in central Delhi will continue to remain closed on Tuesday as per a Delhi Police directive to prevent protesters from reaching India Gate.

The nine stations, including the perennially busy Rajiv Chowk, will continue to remain closed as well, DMRC officials said on Monday.

They said the decision was taken as per directions from Delhi Police.

The Metro stations which will remain closed are Pragati Maidan, Mandi House, Barakhamba Road, Rajiv Chowk, Patel Chowk, Central Secretariat, Udyog Bhawan, Race Course and Khan Market.

These stations remained closed on Monday as well though some gates were opened late in the evening. Commuters were put to lot of inconvenience due to the shutdown on Monday.

The measures were taken following Sunday's pitched battles at Rajpath and India Gate between police personnel and protesters agitating over the rape of a 23-year-old girl in a moving bus in New Delhi last Sunday night.


also read

Close domestic terminal, move  flights to T3, AAI tells govt

blog comments powered by Disqus