Whip cracked; 7 disruptive RS members suspended

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Mar 09, 2010 14:42 IST

Cracking the whip on disruptive MPs, Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari on Tuesday suspended seven members for the remaining part of the Budget session for their unruly behaviour in the House yesterday over the Women's Reservation Bill.

The suspended members are Subhash Yadav (RJD), Sabir Ali (LJP), Veerpal Singh Yadav, Nand Kishore Yadav, Amir Alam Khan and Kamal Akhtar (all SP), and Ejaz Ali (unattached), who had yesterday tried to attack the Chairman and created unprecedented pandemonium in the Upper House.

They had indulged in unruly scenes as soon as Law Minister Veerappa Moily moved the Constitution (108th Amendment) Bill that provides for 33 per cent reservation for women in the Lok Sabha and State Assemblies.

The motion for their suspension was moved by Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Prithviraj Chavan and was passed by voice vote.

The action against members under Rule 256 was taken for showing total "disregard for dignity of Council and authority of the Chair" by obstructing the business of the House.

The rule under which the seven members were suspended does not allow any adjournment or debate.

After their suspension, Ansari adjourned the House till 2 pm, for the second time in the day.

After their suspension, members squatted in the Well and refused to leave. They were seen sitting there till the press gallery was cleared.

Members of SP, RJD and JD-U forcing three adjournments till 2 PM too disrupted proceedings in the Lok Sabha.

Prior to the punitive action in the Rajya Sabha, the SP and RJD members trooped into the Well raising slogans against the Bill as soon as the House re-assembled after a 55-minute adjournment.

"Tanashahi Nahin Chalegi, Musalmanon Daliton ki Hissemari Nahin Chalegi (Dictatorship will not be tolerated. Share of Muslims and Dalits cannot be taken away)," the members kept chanting even as the Chairman announced their suspension and adjournment of the House till 2 PM.

Earlier in the morning, the House was adjourned till 12 PM when SP members disrupted the proceedings demanding implementation of Ranganath Misra Commission report on minority welfare during Question Hour for the second day.

In the Lok Sabha, noisy scenes began as soon as the House assembled at noon after two adjournments during the Question Hour, with members of SP, RJD and JD (U) rushing to the Well.

Amid vociferous protests, Speaker Meira Kumar directed laying of listed papers.

The protestors continued raising slogans like 'Mahila Bill Wapas Lo' (withdraw women's bill), 'utho dalit, pichhde, musalman, milkar banao Hindustan (dalits, backwards and Muslims rise, unite to build the country) and 'Congress, BJP ki ghazab ki yaari, sabki maari hissedari' (Congress, BJP strange bedfellows, they have prevented participation of all sections).

Their leaders Mulayam Singh Yadav and Lalu Prasad soon joined the SP and RJD members in the Well. Some JD (U) members including Mangni Lal Mandal and Rajiv Ranjan Singh Lallan were also seen protesting.


also read


Rajya Sabha revokes suspension of 4 SP members

blog comments powered by Disqus