HindustanTimes Mon,22 Dec 2014


Fali Nariman, Khushwant get Padma
Aloke Tikku
New Delhi, January 26, 2007
First Published: 02:39 IST(26/1/2007)
Last Updated: 06:09 IST(26/1/2007)

Jurist Fali S Nariman, Justice (retd) PN Bhagwati, former civil servants NN Vohra and V Krishnamurthy, former ambassador to the US Naresh Chandra, and author Khushwant Singh are among the 10 eminent personalities awarded the Padma Vibhushan this year.

The president approved 121 names for the civilian awards — up from last year’s 96 — late on Thursday.

On the list of 32 personalities honoured with the Padma Bhushan are Indra Nooyi, the India-born Pepsi chief, professor Jeffrey D Sachs, the guru of market reforms, O Suzuki of Suzuki Motors and Bharti Enterprises chief Sunil Bharti Mittal.

The list of 79 Padma Shri awardees include singer Louis Remo Fernandes, Nasscom chief Kiran Karnik, author Vikram Seth and golfer Jeev Milkha.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved