HindustanTimes Sat,27 Dec 2014


Counting starts in Chh'garh
Press Trust of India, PTI
Raipur, May 13, 2004
First Published: 08:25 IST(13/5/2004)
Last Updated: 09:34 IST(13/5/2004)

Counting of votes for 11 Lok Sabha constituencies in Chhattisgarh began amid tight security arrangements on Thursday morning.

The electoral prospects of 102 candidates, including senior Union Minister Ramesh Bais, Congress leader Shyama Charan Shukla (Raipur) will be decided on Thursday.

Mahasamund constituency will witness a keen contest from where former Chhattisgarh chief Minister Ajit Jogi, who is recovering at Indian Spinal Injuries Centre in New Delhi, after an accident on April 11, is crossing swords with BJP's VC Shukla.

In naxal-infested Bastar seat, the Leader of Opposition in the Assembly, Mahendra Karma is pitted against sitting BJP member Baliram Kashyap.

Former BJP state president Tarachand Sahu is re-election from Drug constituency.

Counting of votes for by-elections to Alakatara and Dongargaon assembly seats was also taken up.

Counting will take place in all the 16 districts headquarters for which about 6,000 have been drafted.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved