CM Raman in a tough fight in Dongargaon constituency

  • Press Trust of India, PTI, Raipur
  • |
  • Updated: Apr 07, 2004 15:38 IST

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh is locked in a seven-cornered contest from the Dongargaon constituency in the upcoming assembly by-election to be held on April 20.

Singh is pitted against Geeta Devi Singh of Congress, BSP's Dayalu Chandel and RPI's Goju Pal and Bamorz Bagde of RPI (Khobragarhe) faction.

Besides, Kanhaiyadas Manikpuri of Chhattisgarhi Samaj Party and an independent Lakshman Das is also in the fray from the seat.

The by-election was necessiated when Pradeep Gandhi, the BJP MLA, vacated his seat to enable the Chief Minister to enter the assembly.

Gandhi is contesting the Lok Sabha polls from Rajnandgaon constituency, which was represented by Singh in the dissolved House.


also read

Khandelwal attacks Jamir govt

blog comments powered by Disqus