Himachal CM Dhumal resigns

  • Press Trust of India, PTI, Shimla
  • |
  • Updated: Mar 02, 2003 21:18 IST

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal on Sunday resigned from his post in the wake of BJP's rout in the state Assembly polls.

Dhumal submitted his resignation to Governor Suraj Bhan who asked him to continue till a new government was formed.
Dhumal, who took over as fifth Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh on March 24, 1998, was the first non-Congress CM to complete full term in office.

Dhumal exploded the myth that  "Oakover",  the official residence of the Chief Minister,  was jinxed and no CM could complete his full term while staying in this house.
The other non-Congress Chief Minister Shanta Kumar twice occupied this house but could not complete his full term.
Congress Chief Ministers YS Parmar and Ram Lal, who also occupied this house, did not complete the full term.

Virbhadra Singh (Congress), who became Chief Minister thrice with his total tenure lasting over 11 years, did not occupy this house.


also read

Khandelwal attacks Jamir govt

blog comments powered by Disqus