Tijara seat to go to better halves

  • HT Correspondent, PTI, Alwar
  • |
  • Updated: Nov 07, 2003 17:48 IST

The Tijara constituency is one Assembly seat where all leading parties are fielding women candidates. The BSP and BJP have already announced their candidates. The Congress, though it has not yet announced its candidate, is learnt to have decided that its candidate will be a woman.

One more special thing about this area, which is dominated by the Yadav and Meo communities, is that all women candidates are the wives of ruling MLAs, MPs and former MLAs.

BSP candidate Givani Devi is the wife of ruling MLA Jagmal Singh. Yadav is a Rashtriya Janata Dal MLA, but recently joined the BSP.

BJP candidate Kiran Yadav is the wife of Alwar MP Jaswant Yadav, who is also the Zila Pramukh. Both the candidates will be contesting the election for the first time. They have started campaigning in right earnest.

Though the Congress has not yet announced its candidate, but it has decided that it will be launching Begum Firoza Ahmed Khan, wife of Ahmed Khan alias Durur Mian, who was elected from Tijara on a Congress ticket in 1993 and is now a Rajya Sabha member.

Not only this, even Saira Begum is reported to be a strong claimant for the Congress ticket, having lost the last elections by a narrow margin. What is certain, however, is that the party candidate will be a woman.

In Tijara constituency which has over 1.72 lakh voters, the Congress has so far won seven times while the CPI (M), Janata Party, Lok Dal, Janata Dal and the Rashtriya Janata Dal candidates have been elected once each.


also read

Khandelwal attacks Jamir govt

blog comments powered by Disqus