‘Son’ rise in Noida as BJP’s Pankaj Singh wins by whopping margin | noida | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

‘Son’ rise in Noida as BJP’s Pankaj Singh wins by whopping margin

noida Updated: Mar 11, 2017 21:54 IST
Vinod Rajput
Noida election result

Breaking all past vote margin records, Union home minister Rajnath Singh’s son Pankaj defeated his nearest rival, Samajwadi Party’s Sunil Chaudhary, by a whopping 1,04,016 votes.(HT Photo)

The Noida assembly segment, one of the most keenly watched seats in the UP assembly elections, saw a ‘son’rise that left all other candidates groping in the dark.

Breaking all past vote margin records in the Noida assembly constituency, Pankaj Singh, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and Union home minister Rajnath Singh’s son, defeated his nearest rival, Samajwadi Party’s Sunil Chaudhary, by a whopping 1,04,016 votes.

While Pankaj Singh secured 1,62,417 votes, Chaudhary managed to get only 58,401 votes. Bahujan Samaj Party’s Ravikant Mishra got 27,365 votes to secure third place.

“We will fulfil all the promises made to voters during our campaign. The BJP will work honestly to fulfil promises made in our sankalp patra (manifesto) for UP polls. We are overwhelmed by the love shown by voters,” said Pankaj Singh.

Read more

Of the total 2,54,194 votes polled, 1,786 went to none of the above (NOTA) in the Noida constituency. Fourteen candidates were in the fray for the Noida seat.

Bahujan Samaj Party and Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance workers admitted that they were highly disappointed with the result.

“I fail to understand what led to such a massive defeat. I don’t want to comment further on the results,” said BSP candidate Ravikant Mishra, who was present at the counting centre till the result was announced.

BSP worker Naresh Pradhan, who accompanied Mishra, said, “Voters voted on Hindu-Muslim lines. As a result, we were defeated in UP.”

The Samajwadi Party, Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party workers, except for their agents, left the counting centre once the results became apparent after the first 4-5 rounds.

“All castes, including Yadavs and Gujjars, voted for the BJP leading to massive victory for the saffron party. We respect the mandate. The BJP has been successful in polarizing the vote bank,” said Sunil Chaudhary who monitored the counting carefully but was disappointed in each round.

Pankaj Singh maintained a lead right from the beginning in all 35 rounds in the Noida seat.

Noida was carved out as a separate assembly segment in 2012. Earlier, it was a part of the Dadri constituency, which was earlier held by BSP’s Satveer Singh Gurjar and has now gone to Tejpal Singh Nagar of the BJP.

Read more

Stakes were high in the Noida seat also because it is the home district of former UP Chief Minister and BSP chief Mayawati. The political reputation of Dr Mahesh Sharma, the minister of state for tourism and culture, also depended on the result of this seat.

In the 2012 polls, the first to be held after Noida became a separate assembly seat, Sharma secured 77,319 votes to trounce the BSP candidate who bagged 49,643 votes. BJP’s Vimla Batham, who won the bypoll in 2014 after Sharma vacated the seat following his election to the Lok Sabha, secured 1,00,433 votes.

The Noida seat registered the lowest polling percentage of 48.55 in the district this time. Of the 5,23,559 voters in Noida, only 2,54,197 exercised their franchise on February 11.

SP-Congress alliance candidate Sunil Chaudhary fought his second assembly election from Noida. In 2012, Chaudhary had secured the third position. Ravikant Mishra and Pankaj Singh were fighting the assembly election for the first time.

Read: Sahibabad: New BJP MLA set sights on development in Indirapuram