Hockey team’s training camp for Glasgow Commonwealth Games begins today

  • Press Trust of India, PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Jul 19, 2014 15:36 IST

The preparatory camp for the senior men hockey probables for the 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games will begin at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium here from Wednesday.

The camp will feature 33 probables and will continue till the departure of the team on for Glasgow, Scotland, on July 12.

India will take on Wales in their opening match of the Commonwealth Games on July 25, followed by games against Scotland (July 26), Australia (July 29) and South Africa (July 31).

In the recently held World Cup in Netherlands, Indian team did not have a good outing and finished 9th place out of the 10 teams. It was India’s worst ever performance as in the previous edition of the event held at home India has finished eighth.

Hockey India (HI) has already formed an 11-member panel for looking into the debacle and ways to improve hockey.

India lost the opener to Belgium 3-2, followed by a 2-1 loss to England. India then drew with Spain before registering their first win against Malaysia. India’s soul-crushing loss came against Australia where the Men in Blue were drubbed 4-0. India ended their campaign with the win against Korea (3-0).

Keeping this in mind making it to the podium in the Glasgow Games will be an important for the team to earn respect at the international arena. During the 2010 CWG India won silver medal.

The regional players including experienced Sardar Singh will be hoping to put up a good show.

Punjab will see players like defenders Gurbaj Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Gurjinder Singh, ex- Chandigarh Hockey and Football Academy (CHFA) trainee vying for the spot in the final squad. In midfield, Dharamvir Singh, ex-CHFA trainee, along with Jasjit Singh of Sansarpur of Punjab will be looking to make the final cut.

List of Probables

Goalkeepers: P R Sreejesh, Harjot Singh, Sushant Tirkey.

Defenders: Gurbaj Singh, Birendra Lakra, Rupinder Pal Singh, V R Raghunath, Gurmail Singh, Gurjinder Singh, Vikram Kanth, Gurinder Singh, Manpreet Singh, Diwakar Ram, Kothajit Singh.

Midfielders: Dharamvir Singh, Sardar Singh, S K Uthappa, Jasjit Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensana Singh Kangujam, Satbir Singh, Devinder Sunil Walmiki, Vikas Pillay.

Forwards: S V Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Mandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Lalit Upadhyay, Yuvraj Walmiki, Talwinder Singh, Affan Yousuf, Nithin Thimmaiah.

also read

EPL: Mourinho’s Manchester routed on return to Chelsea
Show comments