Hurdler Siddhant misses Olympic qualification mark | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Hurdler Siddhant misses Olympic qualification mark

other Updated: Jun 19, 2012 01:35 IST
HT Correspondent

National record holder in men's 110m hurdles Siddhant Thingalaya narrowly missed the Olympic 'B' qualification mark of 13.60 seconds at the Belgium National Championships in Brussels, on Sunday.

The 21-year-old clocked 13.65 seconds to finish behind Belgium's Adrien Deghelt, who recorded 13.64s.

Though he failed to book a passage for the London Games, Siddhant improved his national mark of 13.66, which he clocked during the Australian National Championships at Melbourne, on April 15.

Currently training in Brisbane, he was also impressive during the Federation Cup at Patiala in April. On his way to gold, he had clocked 13.69 seconds - the fastest by an Indian on home soil.

NADA bans six school athletes

The six athletes, who failed a dope test conducted by National Anti-Doping Agency (NADA) during the 57th National School Games in the Capital in December, have been banned for a period ranging from three months to two years.

After the hearing recently, the NADA disciplinary panel imposed a two-year ban on lifter Jugraj Singh and boxer Shivaji More. Wrestler Gagan Kumar Patel and weightlifter Himanshu got a one-year ban. Ashwani Kumar and Manoj Kumar, both boxers, got three months.

During competition, NADA had collected 80 samples and 11 athletes had failed tests for banned drugs, including metabolite of marijuana. This is the first time that school athletes have been indicted for doping.

Hyderabad to host Olympic trials

Hyderabad: Hyderabad will host the final trials to pick Indian athletes for the Olympics. They will add to the list of 13 athletes who have already been selected.

The selection will be made from 650 athletes, including 200 women, who will be seen in action in the 52nd National Inter-State Senior Athletics Championships, which be held at the GMC Balayogi Stadium in Gachibowli from June 23-26.

Y Harish Chandra Prasad, chairman, organising committee, said nearly 30 athletes, who are presently undergoing training at various places in the country, defending champions, and Internationals, will vie for honours in the four-day meet. The 13 who have qualified include Gurmeet Singh, Baljinder Singh, KT Irfan (all 20km walk), Basant Bahadur Rana (50km walk), Ram Singh Yadav (marathon), Om Prakash Singh (shotput), Renjith Maheswary and Mayookha Johny (both triple jump), Vikas Gowda, Krishna Poonia and Seema Antil (discus throw), Tintu Luka (800m) and Sudha Singh (3000m steeplechase).