Indian gymnastics team named | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Indian gymnastics team named

other Updated: Sep 02, 2010 01:29 IST

The Gymnastics Federation of India on Wednesday announced the team for the Commonwealth Games. The core group is training at Pune.

The selection trials were earlier scheduled in Delhi on August 23 but were postponed as lack of adequate of equipment and proper facilities at the Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium made it impossible for players to practice.

Men: Artistics gymnastics: Ashish Kumar, Partha Mondal, Mayank Srivastava, Rakesh K Patra, Rohit Jaiswal, Alok Ranjan (Reserve), Vivek Mishra (Reserve), Vladimir Chertkov, Ashok K Mishra, Praveen Sharma. Women: Deepa Karmakar, Priti Das, Debjani Samanta, Meenakshi, Roma Dilip Jogalekar, Diwja Asher (Reserve), Paromita Das (Reserve), Shephali Moulick, Joy Prakash Chakraborty

Rhythmic gymnastics

Women: Kshipra Joshi, Akshata Shete, Pooja Surve, Mitali (Reserve)

Not selected for CWG, swimmer moves HC

Mumbai: A national-level swimmer has moved the Bombay High Court after her name did not figure in the Indian squad.

According to Mumbai-based Anoushka Merchant, the Swimming Federation of India had said that it will select eight probables, but later it named three girls without informing the other aspirants. Earlier, wrestler Mayur Simhasane had also moved the court challenging his non-selection.