Lucknow Golf Club emerge Signature Golf champs from North | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lucknow Golf Club emerge Signature Golf champs from North

other Updated: Nov 18, 2009 15:36 IST
Bruno Goveas

Lucknow Golf Club emerged the champion golf club from among 12 clubs in the Northern Region, winning the Northern Regional Finals of the McDowells Signature Club Golf Championship 2009, played in the nine-hole PowerPlay Golf format, which concluded at the Classic Golf Resort, Gurgaon on Tuesday. Lucknow Golf Club tallied a total of 88 points, three ahead of runner-up team Noida Golf Club, who totaled 85 points. Noida Golf Club tied with Rambagh Golf Club, Jaipur on 85 points, but were given second spot after the fifth player’s score was taken into consideration.

Ajay Bhasin (handicap 10) was the man of the hour for Lucknow Golf Club, scoring 26 points in the 9-16 handicap category, which included 18 powerplay points. Bhasin had nett birdies on the 2nd, 5th, 6th and 8th holes and nett bogeys on the 1st, 3rd and 9th holes. The other player to excel for the winners was Sandeep Das, who scored a nett eagle on the 4th and nett birdies on the 7 th, 8th and 9th holes. He also had bogeys on the 1st, 5th and 6thholes after a par on the 3 rd. Lucknow Golf Club has won the honour of participating in the all-India finals on December 16, along with winners from the South, East and West Zones, to be held at the Blue Canyon Golf Club, Phuket which was voted ‘Asia’s Best Club’ for two consecutive years, in 2004 and 2005.

For Noida Golf Club, who finished runner-up, Col K K Behl, playing in the 9-16 handicap category, was the highest scorer with 24 points, while P K Agarwal and Joseph Koshy chipped in with 22 points apiece.

A total of 72 golfers, representing 12 clubs from the Northern zone participated in the Northern Regional finals of the Signature Club Golf Championships 2009.

Following are the results: Lucknow Golf Club 88 pts (Ajay Bhasin (handicap 9-16 category) 25; Sandeep Das (17-24) 25; Vikram Sabharwal (9-16) 21; Rishi Khanna (0-8) 16; Ankit Khandelwal (0-8) 16; Rajeev Srivastav (17-24) 16 pts; Noida Golf Coub 85 pts; Rambagh Golf Club, Jaipur 85 pts.

Signature Beautiful Drive (Hole # 2): Col. Iqbal Singh, Chandigarh Golf Club (2.8 inches)

Signature Bold PowerPlay Pts: Capt. S. Dogra, Army Golf Club (20 pts)

Kingfisher Airlines Longest Drive (Hole # 8): Siddharth Semwal, Army Golf Club – 339 Yards