Rugby teams announced for Commonwealth Games | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rugby teams announced for Commonwealth Games

other Updated: Jun 10, 2010 19:06 IST

Sixteen countries will participate in the Rugby Sevens tournament for the Oct 3-14 Commonwealth Games in New Delhi.

Samoa, who secured their first International Rugby Board (IRB) Sevens World Series crown last week, reigning Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens champions New Zealand, hosts India, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Kenya, Namibia, Uganda, England, Scotland, Wales, Australia, Papua New Guinea, Tonga , Canada and Guyana will participate in the tournament from Oct 11-12.

"We firmly believe that the Sevens tournament at the Commonwealth Games plays an important role in the ongoing development and promotion of rugby around the world, attracting some of the world’s top players, delivering exciting matches and attracting new fans thanks to the remarkable talent of all the international teams competing," said IRB president Bernard Lapasset.

"The Sevens tournament at the Commonwealth Games has always proven successful, achieving sell-out crowds, and this year we are particularly excited that the competition is being held in India where rugby is reaching out to new young audiences in a rapidly developing market for our sport. We are looking forward to what promises to be an exciting tournament."

Rugby Sevens was introduced to the Commonwealth Games in Kuala Lumpur 1998.

The pools and tournament schedule will be announced in the coming weeks.