Santosh lands killer blow | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Santosh lands killer blow

other Updated: Jul 13, 2010 00:53 IST
Shalabh Manocha
Shalabh Manocha
Hindustan Times

Railway Sports Promotional Board (RSPB) and Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) boxers continued their good run in the 57th Senior Men's National Championship on Monday.

An early start to the day saw V. Santosh Kumar (SSCB) defeating Pradeep Kumar (Madhya Pradesh) 17-1 in the light welterweight category. In the light heavyweight category, Sujeet Kumar (SSCB) got the better of Samrat (Maharashtra), winning 9-1.

The SSCB boxers had it easy in the next two bouts as well. While Manpreet Singh knocked out Gurbinder Singh (Jharkhand) in the heavyweight category, Sanjay Kolte overwhelmed S. Ramu (Andhra Pradesh) 18-1. SSCB' Chote Lal got a walk over against VD Rao.

The RSPB boys, too, had a satisfactory day out. In the light welterweight category, Manoj Kumar beat Bitupan Sakia (Assam) 10-1. Kuldeep Singh got the better of Rohit (Rajasthan) in the middleweight category with referee stopping the contest. In the heavyweight category, too, referee had to step in to award the bout to Praveen Kumar, who was up against Jitin K.R (Kerela).

What came as an icing on the cake for the RSPB boxers was Amandeep Singh's victory over Sandeep Malik (Delhi) in the light flyweight category. Amandeep was trailing 1-0 at the end of the first round, but he unleashed a fierce counter attack to level the score in the second round and then raced to a 5-1 win in the last round.

The day saw the biggest upset in the defeat of Balwinder Singh (Haryana) at the hands of Punjab boxer Lakhbir Singh in the welterweight category. Balwinder was the favourite, but ended up losing the bout 8-4.

Results: Light Welter: Tilak Budha (ARU) bt Shail Ali (AP) 6-0

Middle: Abdul Muneer (KER) bt Kanwaljeet Singh (Man) 5-4; Light Heavy Weight: Lavish Singh (UTR) bt B Srinivas (AP) 8-0; Super Heavy: G Shan Mugha (TN) bt Amanpreet Singh (JHA) 5-4.