Sindhu receives Arjuna award | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sindhu receives Arjuna award

Rising shuttler P V Sindhu was conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award by Sports Minister Jitendra Singh here on Tuesday.

other Updated: Sep 25, 2013 00:49 IST

Rising shuttler P V Sindhu was conferred with the prestigious Arjuna Award by Sports Minister Jitendra Singh here on Tuesday.

Sindhu had missed the opportunity to receive the award from President Pranab Mukhejee at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 31 as she was busy playing in the final of the Indian Badminton league (IBL).

Jitendra Singh presented the shuttler with a statuette, citation and a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh during the governing body meeting of Sports Authority of India.

New Delhi: H S Prannoy and Saurabh Verma helped ONGC clinch the men’s team championship title, while BPCL won the crown in the women and veteran’s team competitions in the PSPB inter-unit badminton tournament here on Tuesday.

In the men’s final, ONGC’s H S Prannoy beat K Srikanth of IOCL 21-16 11-21 21-19 and Saurabh Verma defeated P Kashyap (IOCL) 21-13 22-20 in the men’s singles to make it 2-0 in ONGC’s favour. Rupesh Kumar and V Diju then beat Arun Vishnu and K Srikanth 21-16 22-20 to make it 3-0.
In the women’s final, P V Sindhu and Aditi Mutatkar notched up victories in their respective singles matches to help BPCL win the title.
Sethuraman wins

Kocaeli (Turkey): Grandmaster SP Sethuraman came back into the reckoning with a thumping victory over Antonios Pavlidis of Greece in the 10th round of the World Junior Chess Championship here.

Sethuraman took his tally to seven points in 10 games, and is currently joint fifth along with compatriots Debashish Das and Vidit Gujrathi. Yu Yangyi of China joined Alexander Ipatov of Turkey in lead on 8.5 points.
Delhi U-14 win

New Delhi: Captain Vikas Solanki’s 5/16 and Ayush Badoni’s 69 helped Delhi beat Punjab in the inter-state North Zone U-14 tournament being held in Himachal Pradesh. Meanwhile, Vaibhav Rawal will lead Delhi U-25 in the JP Atrey tournament to be held in Chandigarh from September 26.
Neha leads

New Delhi: Kolkata golfer Neha Tripathi led the field with a level-par score on the first day of the 11th leg of the Women’s Professional Golf Tour 2013 here on Tuesday.

Trailing Neha by a stroke was Delhi’s Vani Kapoor, while in-form veteran golfer Smriti Mehra was placed third with a total score of two over 74 after the first round of the Rs 5,00,000 event being played at the Delhi Golf Club.