Usha to head National sports award committee | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Usha to head National sports award committee

other Updated: Jul 23, 2010 01:06 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Sports Ministry on Thursday announced the setting up of the panels for selecting sportspersons for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, Arjuna and Dronacharya Awards for the year 2010.

While former sprint queen PT Usha will head the National Sports Awards committee, hockey great Ashok Kumar will chair the panel that will pick the Dronacharya awardees.

The 17-member committee that will select winners of the Khel Ratna, Arjuna and Dhyanchand Awards also has, among others, Leander Paes and weightlifter Karnam Malleswari. Only one Khel Ratna will be awarded this year.