Wrist of fury: Lee sees off Gade in final | other | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Wrist of fury: Lee sees off Gade in final

other Updated: May 01, 2011 23:39 IST
Anamika Nandekar
Anamika Nandekar
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Top seed Lee Chong Wei of Malaysia and unheralded Porntip Buranaprasertsuk of Thailand emerged winners in India's first Super Series event at the Sirifort Sports Complex here on Sunday.

Lee staved off a stiff challenge from third seed Peter Gade of Denmark and, though the score might not indicate, every point took a lot of effort from both the seasoned players.

The 21-12, 12-21, 21-14 victory made Lee richer by $15,000 and consolidated his position as the world's top ranked player ahead of the 2012 Olympics qualification tournaments which start this week.

Buranaprasertsuk, 20, defeated third seed Bae Yoon-Joo of Korea 21-13, 21-16. Her smashes caught Joo off-guard on many occasions and, though less on experience, the Thai made up for it in confidence. She beat three seeded players en route her maiden Super Series title.

"There is something unbeatable about him," Gade said as he tried to explain what strategy works against a player like Lee. The Dane has now lost 11 of the last 12 encounters against Lee.

The margin by which both players won the first two games seemed bizarre for two top-10 shuttlers fighting for the title. There was just an occasional smash here and a strong push there, but mostly it was all about mind games.

They rarely went to the back of the court and kept the shuttle low.

But Gade, who has decided to quit playing after the London Olympics, found it difficult to break Lee's momentum.

Japan picked up two doubles titles to end their Indian outing on a successful note. Japan had fielded a huge contingent and took full advantage of the absence of China, winning the women's doubles and men's doubles titles.

Miyuki Maeda and Satoko Suetsuna beat Mizuki Fujii and Reika Kakiiwa 26-24, 21-15 in an all-Japanese final which lasted one hour and 10 minutes --- the longest in this tournament.