Sanjay, Musa create history in rally

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Oct 31, 2012 23:26 IST

India’s Sanjay Takle and his navigator Musa Sheriff become the first pair from the country to win the A6 class championship at the 2012 Asia Pacific Rally Championship round in Longyou, China.

Takle and Sheriff logged 16 points including 4 bonus points in the season ending China Longyou rally over the weekend to take their season tally to 81 from five rallies and top the A6 class category.

However, the problems in the season-ending rally cost them a spot on the podium of the overall two-wheel drive class.

“We ran very steady to finish the competition. For us, it was important to finish it inspite of technical failues.” Takale said

Former world champion Karamjit Singh of Malaysia won the two-wheel drive championship with 161 points followed by Akira Bamba of Japan (128). 


also read

Williams F1 team retain Massa, Bottas for 3rd straight season

blog comments powered by Disqus