623 in the fray for 2nd phase Bihar polls | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

623 in the fray for 2nd phase Bihar polls

patna Updated: Oct 09, 2010 21:20 IST

Altogether 623 candidates are left in the fray for 45 Assembly constituencies in Bihar after the last date of withdrawal of nominations today for the second phase of Assembly elections in the state due on October 24.

Of the total 672 candidates who filed nomination, the documents of 26 aspirants were rejected yesterday while 23 others withdrew, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Kumar Anshumali told reporters here.

The Congress and the BSP are contesting all the seats.

The ruling JD(U) is contesting in 28 and ally BJP in 17.

The RJD is in the fray in 34 Assembly constituencies while LJP candidates are trying their luck in 11.

CPI-M and CPI have put up eight candidates each, while CPI-ML (Liberation) is contesting in 11.

The political stalwarts whose fate will be decided in the second phase poll, include state RJD chief Abdul Bari Siddiqui (Alinagar), his JD(U) counterpart Vijay Kumar Choudhary (Sarairanjan), JD(U) ministers Ramnath Thakur (Samastipur) and Shahid Ali Khan (Sursand).

Besides LJP supremo Ram Vilas Paswan's brother and former MP Ramchandra Paswan will be crossing swords with CLP leader Ashok Kumar in Kusheshwa Asthan.

RJD chief whip in the state Assembly and former minister Ramchandra Purve is contesting from Parihar while former Union Minister M A A Fatmi's son Fraz Fatmi is in the fray from Kevati.

Former Bihar minister Ramai Ram is contesting on a JD(U) ticket from Bochaha.