Assembly polls: CPI to contest 62 seats | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Assembly polls: CPI to contest 62 seats

patna Updated: Sep 29, 2010 21:47 IST

The CPI on Wednesday released its list of 55 party nominees for the upcoming six-phase Bihar Assembly elections.

Releasing the list, CPI Bihar unit secretary B N Lal said the party, CPI-ML and CPI-M have entered into an agreement on 140 out of 243 Assembly seats in Bihar.

While the CPI-ML had released its list of 48 candidates for the first three phases of the Assembly polls commencing on October 21, the CPI will contest 62 seats on its own in the six-phase polls.

However, the party's decision to contest 62 seats on its own will not affect the Left unity, Lal said.

According to the agreement, the three parties will contest 140 seats and on the rest 103 seats, CPI will have friendly fight with CPI-ML on 17 seats and with CPI-M on seven seats.

Lal said his party has renominated sitting MLA from Harlakhi in Madhubani district, the party MLA from Barauni Rajendra Prasad Singh had expressed his unwillingness to contest the polls due to his ill health and hence he had been replaced by Ram Ratan Singh.