Bihar elections: parties give tickets to kin of politicians | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bihar elections: parties give tickets to kin of politicians

patna Updated: Oct 03, 2010 13:21 IST
Bihar elections

Be it the ruling JD(U) or BJP, or the opposition RJD, LJP and Congress, election time in Bihar proves that blood is thicker than water when it comes to issuing tickets to the kin of politicians.

The ruling JD(U) has accommodated the sons of three party leaders -- two MPs and one MLC, party sources said.

The MP sons who have been given tickets are Sanjay Kumar, son of Hajipur Lok Sabha member and former chief minister Ramsunder Das, from Rajapakar in Vaishali district, and Rahul Sharma, son of Jehanabad Lok Sabha member Jagdish Sharma, from Ghoshi in Jehanabad district.

Food minister Narendra Singh's son Ajay Pratap Singh would be contesting from Jamui, a seat that was once represented by his brother Abhay Singh, who committed suicide a few months ago.

Annu Shukla, wife of incarcerated Lalganj MLA, Munna Shukla, would be contesting in his place.

The JD(U) has also rewarded Sarfaraj Alam, son of controversial party leader and former Union Minister Md Taslimuddin with a party ticket from Jokihat in Araria district. He replaces sitting party MLA Manzar Alam.

Praveen Amanullah, wife of Principal Secretary Cabinet Coordination Department Afzal Amanullah, will be the JD(U) nominee from Sahebpur Kamal.