Choudhary to be elected Bihar assembly speaker | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Choudhary to be elected Bihar assembly speaker

patna Updated: Dec 01, 2010 13:55 IST

Highlight Story

Uday Narain Choudhary is all set to be elected unopposed speaker of the Bihar Assembly for the second term tomorrow. Choudhary's nomination to the post of speaker was proposed by state Water Resources Minister Vijay Kumar Choudhary and seconded by Road Construction Minister Nand Kishore Yadav.

Altogether six sets of nominations on behalf of Choudhary were submitted to the secretary of the state assembly S P Sharma. Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister

Sushil Kumar Modi, besides a host of state ministers, were present on the occasion. Meanwhile, 25 more newly-elected MLAs today took oath in the state assembly. Pro-tem speaker and eight-time MLA Sadanand Singh (Congress) administered them the oath. BJP Minister Ramadhar Singh also took oath.

Altogether 211 newly-elected legislators of the house had taken oath yesterday. Rest of the seven newly-elected MLAs are likely to take oath tomorrow.