Docs flay govt, seek CM’s intervention | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Docs flay govt, seek CM’s intervention

patna Updated: Sep 08, 2012 16:09 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Indian Medical Association (IMA) and the Bihar State Health Services Association (BSHSA) have flayed the health department for recently issuing what it termed a 'blasphemous advertisement' against serving government doctors in the state.

Assuring action against guilty doctors, the department had reportedly urged patients to call up a helpline number, if they did not find them on duty.

Taking strong exception to this, BSHSA spokesperson, Dr Ranjit Kumar said, the advertisement denigrated the doctors.

"As it is, cases of attack on doctors are increasing and such directives would only encourage people to attack them further," he added.

He further said, that besides being a violation of personnel rules, the government was trying to portray that it were the doctors who were responsible for all the wrong in the healthcare system. Contrary to it, the two fora of doctors squarely blamed the bureaucracy for the mess the state's healthcare was in.

They said that failure to open three new medical colleges, shortage of drugs, equipment, etc., were more because of bureaucratic ineptness than anything else.

In a state woefully short of doctors, the associations felt that issuing such orders and advertisement against medical practitioners would not help the state's cause as no doctor would be encouraged to work here.

The IMA as well as the BSHSA sought the intervention of chief minister Nitish Kumar to restrain the health department from putting such curbs on doctors. What prompted the health department to issue such public notice were complaints, alleging that though doctors reported to duty on time, they would leave thereafter. The IMA-BSHSA meet was convened under the chairmanship of IMA president Dr Arun Kumar Thakur on Friday. The signatories included Dr Vijay Shankar Singh, Dr SL Mandal, Dr DK Chowdhury, Dr Rajiva Ranjan, Dr Rajiv Ranjan Prasad, Dr Arun Kumar Thakur, Dr Ajay Kumar, Dr Sachchidanand Kumar, Dr Sahjanand Prasad Singh, Dr Kumar Arun, Dr Ranjit Kumar, Dr Vishvendra Kumar Sinha, Dr Ramdhani Yadav and Dr Om Prakash Srivastava.