HC upholds rotational headship in Patna univ | patna | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 07, 2016-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

HC upholds rotational headship in Patna univ

patna Updated: Oct 05, 2012 16:32 IST
Prashant Pratap
Prashant Pratap
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Patna high court on Thursday dismissed an appeal challenging the order of its single bench that confirmed rotational headship for three years in Patna University (PU) departments.

A division bench of justice Shiva Kriti Singh and justice Shivaji Pandey dismissed the appeal filed by Dr Sunanda Banerjee and other teachers of the university.

Banerjee, Dr Rai Murari Prasad and Dr Sudha Sinha were heads of political science, economics and philosophy departments before the scheme of rotational headship for three years was introduced.

In 2010, when the rotational headship was implemented in PU, Dr Sachidanand Sharma, Dr Bhagwan Prasad Singh and Dr Rangnath Prasad all professors in PU were appointed heads.

However, the tenure of Sharma, Singh and Rangnath Prasad was cut short by a PU notification and they filed a writ application before a single bench of the Patna high court.

Allowing the writ application and upholding the threeyear headship tenure on May 11, 2012, justice Ajay Kumar Tripathi observed that prior to the rotational headship notification, the head of department (HOD) was a kind of ‘permanent jamindar’.

The HoD continued to occupy the post till he superannuated or was otherwise dislodged, justice Tripathi said.

There seemed to be a lot of resentment with such a permanent arrangement and, therefore, the notification was issued, justice Tripathi added.

According to the notification for rotational headship, the headship was to be rotated only amongst the four seniormost teachers with a fixed tenure of three years, he said.

Aggrieved by the order, Banerjee and others had filed the appeal before the division bench.